Martyn Bennett

2003: Real World 72435 92551 2

  1. Move
  2. Blackbird
  3. Chanter
  4. Nae Regrets
  5. Liberation
  6. Why
  7. Ale House
  8. Wedding
  9. Rant
  10. Storyteller

It’s Thursday 17 February 2005; at the end of my day at work I looked online to see if Martyn Bennett had any other CDs out besides his giddily fun Bothy Culture. I checked (a pretty good source of such information, but not perfect) and learned two things: first, that he had recorded Grit, released in 2003 by Real World (and a few before that); second, that he died just nineteen days ago.

I hunted down a copy tonight on my way home. I’m playing it now. I may be playing it for a very long time.