World Machine

Level 42

1985: Polydor 829 627-2

  1. Something About You
  2. World Machine
  3. Physical Presence
  4. Leaving Me Now
  5. Hot Water
  6. It’s Not the Same For Us
  7. Good Man in a Storm
  8. The Chant Has Begun
  9. Lying Still

It may have been its successor that “broke” Level 42 for American audiences, but for me this album is marginally superior to it…to the point that I generally think of it as being the followup instead of the other way around, as it sounds like a step forward. That’s not to say that Running In the Family was a step backward—I just think Level 42 stepped into a spotlight for that album with more or less the same level of material.