Singles / Live

Alison Moyet

1996: Columbia 480663 9

  1. The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
  2. Only You
  3. Nobody’s Diary
  4. Situation
  5. Love Resurrection
  6. All Cried Out
  7. Invisible
  8. That Ole Devil Called Love
  9. Is This Love?
  10. Weak in the Presence of Beauty
  11. Ordinary Girl
  12. Love Letters
  13. It Won’t Be Long
  14. Wishing You Were Here
  15. This House
  16. Falling
  17. Whispering Your Name
  18. Getting into Something
  19. Ode to Boy II
  20. Solid Wood

What an assortment of styles and reactions! This is a good way to find out which periods of Moyet’s career appeal to you and which don’t; certainly I give a miss to the bulk of her mid-’80s synth-based stuff, which might as well be demo tapes, in favor of her work on both sides of 1990, although even that distinction is unclear on this compilation because of the inclusion of “Ode to Boy II” and a non-album mix of “Getting Into Something.” Its kickoff, her cover of “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face,” is so beautiful that it’s almost cruel to have to continue on from there into the synth-sterile years’ product that follows.


Alison Moyet

  1. Getting into Something
  2. Chain of Fools
  3. Love Letters
  4. All Cried Out
  5. Dorothy
  6. Falling
  7. Ode to Boy
  8. Is This Love?
  9. Nobody’s Diary
  10. Whispering Your Name
  11. There Are Worse Things I Could Do

I absolutely adore her chiding “…saucy!” comment in the beginning of “Chain of Fools.” What a perfect and engaging touch to personalize the concert for us…. This very intimately scaled recording certainly showcases Moyet’s powerhouse vocals in most of their range, although she sounds either winded or jaded at times (flip a coin). There isn’t a bit of this concert I wouldn’t have wanted to be there for in person…solid wood indeed.