Santana—The Collection


1991: Castle COmmunications Australasia Ltd ACSCD 001

  1. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
  2. Oye Como Va
  3. Every Bodys Everything [sic]
  4. Stormy
  5. You Know That I Love You
  6. Winning
  7. Hold On
  8. Shango
  9. Let the Children Play
  10. Evil Ways
  11. She’s Not There
  12. Samba Pa Ti
  13. Singing Wings, Crying Beasts
  14. Marathon
  15. Dance Sister Dance
  16. Havana Moon
  17. Songs of Freedom
  18. Breaking Out

This collection isn’t nearly as bad as its cover art’s “design,” but I really need to throw it out and get a proper Santana “hits” package.

I’m not especially drawn to Santana’s albums, just some key personal favorites such as “Dance Sister Dance” (which here gets an outrageously inappropriate fade-out as the instrumental section begins, instead of letting the song climb to its proper climax) and of course “Oye Como Va,” and “Evil Ways” sometimes works for me too. But I truly dislike the style of music on “Let the Children Play.” “Havana Moon” was the one pleasant surprise I got from this collection, as I’d never heard the song before and found it enjoyably catchy.

I must say, however, that the grooves of “Dance Sister Dance” are just sex-on-a-stick delicious.